Boys wrestling in the state is divided between three divisions (unlike girls, which is just one), and our area had some great team and individual performances in 2020.

First, a look at how teams finished in the state championships on February 22 at the Williamson County Expo Center:

• Clarksville High and Rossview finished 7th and 8th respectively in the Class AAA Division, while Kenwood (34th), West Creek (41st), and Northwest (55th) finished with respectable scores.

• Sycamore (11th) was the best of the Class A-AA teams from our area, but Harpeth (15th) and Cheatham County (29th) certainly had great seasons.

• No team from Division II finished in the running in the state from our area.

When we look at individual state finishers, two wrestlers won state championships and they will be our candidates for Boys Wrestler of the Year. But before we look at them, let’s look at our list of honorable mention selections–wrestlers who placed in the top six in the state in their respective weight classes.


Class A-AA

• 106 lbs: Taylor Turner, Harpeth • 6th

• 120 lbs: Logan Heckert, Sycamore • 4th

• 132 lbs: Dalen Kimble, Sycamore • 2nd

• 145 lbs: Mark Helser, Sycamore • 6th

• 160 lbs: Cooper Edwards, Harpeth • 6th

Class AAA

• 126 lbs: Samuel Shires, Rossview • 3rd

• 132 lbs: Ethan Moore, Rossview • 2nd

• 145 lbs: Thomas Williams, Rossview • 2nd

• 152 lbs: Derrick Bannister, Kenwood • 4th

That brings us to our two state champions and our two candidates for BOYS WRESTLER OF THE YEAR:

• 138 lb. Champion: Christian Isbell, Clarksville High–Isbell finished his year undefeated at 9-0, and pinned Alan Fort (Wilson Central) at 3:42 of his match. Isbell also won the state championship in this weight class last year.

170 lb. Champion: Gabriel Smith, Clarksville High–Also undefeated on the year at 9-0, Smith won in a close decision (4-3) over previously unbeaten Josh Pietarilla (Hardin Valley Academy). Smith finished 4th in this weight class in 2019.

So the voting is now open for these outstanding wrestlers. This is the only round of voting. You can vote as often as you like, and the fan vote will count 50% of the total vote. We will consult our expert panel for the other 50% of the vote.












Share This